Gettin' my feet wet! Skirt?

Welcome all! I’m a newb here. My name is Josh and I’m from Indiana. I love kayaking, canoeing, and all things water. Just “getting my feet wet” here –haha! Currently own a 10.5 Perception Sport Kayak – It has a lip around it – any ideas on how I can find a good skirt for this? Are they pretty much all universal? I’ve looked on Amazon and I just don’t want to buy something that won’t work.

I’m wanting to be able to practice flipping.

Sprayskirt
The Seals fit list says your boat should take a size 7.0 nylon skirt. The cockpit of your boat is quite large, so a skirt will really only be effective for splash protection. In rough water any waves onto the deck will likely cause it to implode (collapse inward off the cockpit rim), which is to say your boat is fine & enjoyable for calm protected waters. It also appears has no built in floatation, so without float bags installed it will likely become a submarine in a capsize. If by “flipping” you mean rolling, at 29.5 inches wide it would be a bit of a challenge for an accomplished roller to pull off. Enjoy it for what it is intended.

Wanna Roll?
Hey, I used to live in Southern Indiana. Paddled the Ohio and Blue River.

To make it POSSIBLE to roll you should probably get yourself a 'yak that’s a nice, beginner-friendly roller.

Wow
I never knew it got so technical! I’m blown away. Sounds like the kayak I got is not built for the rougher waters, though I thought it was. It’s hard to find quality kayaks around here, Bass Pro and Dicks Sporting Goods seem to be the only places that sell them, though they’re basic ones with “large cockpits” like mine. I was going to practice in a swimming pool or nearby pond first but it sounds like I’ll need a new yak - which is something I’ve been wanting anyways. Thanks for the response!

Awesome!