getting back in after falling out.

what’s the best way to get back into your kayak in deep water after falling/getting out? I’m a very novice kayaker and would like to take my kayak out in the lake and swim around. Problem is, how do I get back in?? I can see me getting out there and having to swim back towing my kayak behind me!

Look at this
Treat it like self-rescue. Use a paddle float.

http://members.tripod.com/kayakfit/Paddle%20Float.htm

intermediate paddlers
an intermediate paddler is someone who has taken the initiative, to ask and learn and acquire the knowledge to know what the dangers are and what are not and what to do about them.

You are making a good start. But go further. Solo travel is not for novices, as kayaks are NOT easy to get back into in deep water and in wind and waves. The usual, get a paddle float and it is easy stick, is NOT ACCURATE. Many kayaks have hight rear decks, small cockpits, inadequate rigging etc.

Learn the progression of solo recoveries, how to communicate with land in case of emergency, go with more advance folks, learn assisted recoveries. All this will get you to know what ways work for you solo!

Have fun and learn, it is a great sport.

Evan

Advice if usable
1) Mantra number 1, 2 thru 99 - as part of having the kayak you should/should have taken some time to learn how to get back into it. Falling out not on purpose happens.

2) The paddle float self-rescue is only real viable if you have a boat with deck rigging and a low enough deck you can pull yourself up onto it. (Which requires getting flat in the water and a few other things that are explained in the Guidelines section ofthis site, under Safety)

You don’t indicate what kind of boat you have,

Quite true

– Last Updated: Jun-24-06 7:24 PM EST –

getting back into a kayak in deep water takes knowledge, skill, balance, strength and...the right kayak as some boats simply can not be gotten back into in deep water.

Practice, practice, practice.

Easy Solution