Getting my first boat

Ok so this is my first time kayaking, I got whitewater rafting all the time and I think I would like to take my try at this. I having doing some reviews and I believe I have eliminated going in the inflatable kayak direction because of the lack of speed and tracking. I’m looking for something that i can grow into as well. I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for the Old Town Otter XT and the Rush. Does anyone know the difference between these two. And if anyone has any better suggestions I definately appreciate it. I’m trying to stay as close to $500 as I can. But if someone can sway me I might save up a little more to get the kayak best suited for me. thanks!!!

If you are “looking for something –
that you can grow into”, don’t look at the Otter.

People generally grow out of them.

Cheers,

JackL

Otter
The otter is a beginner kayak. I bought mine because I have never canoed or kayaked before. It was a blast for about a summer. By the end of the summer it was time to get something longer because I wanted to go faster and to go on bigger water. My next kayak was a 12.50 Dagger Blackwater. Much faster, had a skeg, adjustable foot pegs, and it was narrower. It was a little more than $500.00. Now I have a Venture Kayaks 17ft Skye. I love this boat and it was around $1000.00.

Go to some demo days, do some research, and for not much more than $500.00 you can probably get a good used boat that you can grow into. Look for something at least 12 feet in length.

Neither if WW

– Last Updated: Aug-22-08 9:23 AM EST –