Getting my first kayak

Hello all! Ive been dreaming of getting my first kayak for 2 years and finally the opportunity has presented itself. As a college student my budget isn’t very high. However I did find the perception sport conduit 13 to be within my price range.

I will mainly be kayaking in the small lakes, creeks, and rivers around my town although I could definitely see myself wanting to tackle bigger bodies of water as I build confidence in my paddling abilities. Id like to go on day/weekend trips as well as get some fishing done and would like to make sure that this kayak would be well suited for what I am looking for.

Look into used
Keelhauler.org, canoe/kayak club based in Cleveland has classifieds

http://www.keelhauler.org/khcc/khcads.htm

What are your stats…
…weight & size?

Before you put down your coins for a boat, consider taking a sea kayaking 101 class from these guys:

http://www.kayak41north.com/scheduleList.aspx?SectionID=3&Sub=97

LaDue would be an easy drive for you and by the time you’ve finished this class, you will be much better informed :slight_smile:

Used and what Byron said
You are slightly under 1 hour driving time from Lake Erie - part of the Great Lakes and your logical choice for more adventurous paddling. The Perception Conduit 13 is at best a poor match for those waters. Perception agrees - from their own web site - “A great boat for touring lazy rivers or doing some exploration on smaller lakes.” None of the Great Lakes is a “smaller lake”.

You don’t know why I am saying this, and you will be happier long term if you take a little time to find out why. You can get a very apt used boat for your purposes with the bucks you’ll spend on a boat like the Conduit. The worse that happens with taking Byron’s suggestion is that you can make a better informed decision to stay with a boat like the Conduit.

Perception Sport