Getting Started

I’ve been paddling for about 2 years now on flat water with a Pamlico 100 and a Dagger Echo 12.0. I’ve always been a fisherman but I’ve never put the two together and now I want to give it a shot. I’m thinking of outfitting the Pamlico for fishing but don’t know where to start. I don’t need anything fancy, but any advice on getting started would be appreciated.

Get a rod holder
like a Scotty for the front of your cockpit. They are cheep ant the utility of hat tower FAR exceeds simply holding one fishing rod! It lets you lean other fishing rods against it, lean the paddle against it.it helps rig rods. It’s an amazing wonder product that does all that and more!

Mr Grumpy , serious question …
… from a non-yaker ok …

What do you do with the paddle in a yak when you have to hold something else ??

Do all yaks have something assigned to that ??

You SHOULD have some sort of
paddle keeper and in most (not all) cases this is an add on feature that you will have to buy and install. Often times I’ll just leave it in my lap (not recommended) but with the rod holder I can lean it against that in the front and leave the back blade on the back deck. On my particular boat this is actually pretty secure. I have seen people slide a blade under the front deck rigging too.

what goes . . .
what goes into installing a rod holder? new to this whole thing also.

Thanks Mr.G. , …
… I have seen one picture somewhere of the paddle clipped into what looked like a plastic spring clip (that must be one of those things you mentioned), the paddle was running from front to back off to the side . Thanks again , I was just wondering because my nephew , who I fish with alot , has been getting the “yak. and fish” bug I think … another old fishing buddy I see occassionally , just told me he has a yak. now , and sometimes fishes from it too … what’s rhis world coming too ?? … Am I going to be the last of the Mohicens ??

I know , I know , I know , try it some time myself , right …