Going to look at some used Pungos soon...

I’m going to check out (and hopefully bring home) a used Pungo 140 and what I believe is a Pungo 120 (has “Pungo” on the side but no numbers, yet the dimensions match those of a 120). I’m a complete rookie at this. What should I look for when I inspect these things in person? The lady bought them at an auction and has had them stored off the ground in a garage for a year. She has never had them on the water.

She’s letting them go for a steal. The only deal breakers I can think of would be holes or cracks in the body of the kayaks. Or can something like this be repaired? The seats look a little dirty from the picture, but I can probably spiffy them up easily. Is it possible for the poly material to warp in the garage during hot weather? Just trying to think of everything so I can make a wise decision and negotiate properly if necessary. I will try to post pictures in the comments if I can figure it out…

That last picture has me worried with all the junk on it in storage.

They don’t look so bad to me but especially being left out in the sun can deform poly kayak hulls.

Google up “oil canning kayak” to see some examples.

From the photos they don’t appear to be faded and if they’ve been stored indoors they should be fine. A good scrub up and some 303 on the plastic and they’d look much better.

I wonder how old these Pungos are. They have less deck rigging than the modern ones (which is pretty minimal anyway) and also don’t have the “Orbix” style hatches. When you go see them look for the HIN numbers on the starboard rear side of the hull. They’ll be a number like WEMxxxxxAabb where WEM means Wilderness Systems made it, xxxxx is a unique sequence number, A is the month it was built (A=Jan, B=Feb, etc) a is the model year and bb is the year it was built.

WS has been making Pungo 140s since at least 2003 and I’ve read that some of the earlier ones didn’t have a front bulkhead, so I’d check for that.