Good first canoe, have 3 small kids

-- Last Updated: May-10-07 6:38 AM EST --

Hello - I've been digging through the product reviews and message boards for weeks - this is the best website!

I'm a beginner with 3 kids (aged 4,5,7) and want a good used canoe, hopefully soon! We tent camp near lakes, so lake paddling would be a must, but non-whitewater river trips are hopefully in our future. On lakes I usually take at least one kid, or my husband paddles too. And we'll want to canoe camp one day.

Whew - solo, tandem, 5 people, lake, river - is there a canoe out there at a decent price for us?
The guy at the store recommended a Mad River Adventure 16, but after reading posts here, I thought something different might be preferable over the long haul. I'm considering a Mohawk Nova 16, or possibly a Penobscot 16, though I'm limited because, of course, money is an issue and I need one near enough to Georgia. Plus it'll have to travel cartop. Any ideas on these, or other available models?

Thank you very much - Carole

I’m in Atlanta, so e-mail if you want
so we can be in touch in case I see a good used tandem. Occasionally they come up in the Georgia Canoeing Association newsletter.

A Penobscot 16 is a bit marginal. You really would need a 17 to carry two adults, three kids, and (eventually) canoe camping gear. I never hesitated to load a boat right up to its limits on small mountain lakes, as long as all wore PFDs, but if you get on a river, you want the boat to have plenty of margin. When our kids were little, we were using an 18.5 foot, 15 inch deep canoe, and it could carry the four of us plus camping gear.

Of course if you get a 17 foot or more, you may have trouble solo paddling the boat with your littler kids on board. That’s where the 16 would be better. No ideal solution. Maybe by the time you get into camping you can get a small canoe or a rec or WW kayak for the oldest, largest child.

I think…