Good rec kayak for beginner

I’m new to kayaking and want to get a rec kayak. It will be used for flatwater only. I tried out a Jackson Ibis and liked it but a search here didn’t turn up anything. Anyone have one? Opinions? There’s a used one I’m considering.

Jackson Kayaks
Jackson kayaks are well respected for whitewater designs, the rec boats are kind of a new venture for them. The boat looks like it would be decent for a rec boat for flatwater, and probably paddles faster than many but I’ve only seen it out of the water. The seat looks a little clumsy, you’d have to judge how well it would work for you.

How about “using pnet” reviews ?
Categories:

Kayaks under 10’ in Length

Kayaks under 12’ in Length

Kayaks under 14’ in Length

http://www.paddling.net/Reviews/Kayaks.html

Are you looking for speed,or what?

– Last Updated: Sep-08-12 5:15 PM EST –

That seems an odd question but do you have length restrictions,are you going to use it for fishing? 'Flatwater' can be lakes, farm ponds, rivers,or swamps.How about the weight of the boat?
There are lots of good rec boats like the Wilderness Systems Pungo series. I would stay away from the Pelican brand but that is me.
You can go low in price or buy something like an Epic.
My advice to beginners is buy a boat that is comfortable for you, buy a good paddle like an Aquabound (not an aluminum beast that can double as a shovel or an axe, like my first one)and buy a comfortable PFD that you will wear.
As a rule, the longer the boat, the better it tracks and the more weight it will carry.
If you are over 200lb, you probably need a 14' boat.
That Ibis is a good looking boat.

You need…
An RTM Tempo

article
There is an article you may want to read. The Summer 2011 issue of California Kayaker Magazine had an article on selecting a recreational kayak. Can be read for free online at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html

update

– Last Updated: Sep-09-12 12:15 AM EST –