Good River Runner?????????

Hi,

I am thinking about getting a new river runner. I am a novice whitewater paddler and currently have an RPM. I like the boat with two exceptions: first I can’t get comfortable in it (in order to get a secure fit it is painful—if I loosen things up to get comfortable then I am too loose in the boat). Next, I really don’t like the low volume stern. It catches on me all the time giving me lots of rolling practice.

I am looking for something comfortable, stable, and easy to roll-----can’t have a low volume stern. I’m not interested in play characteristics. I like displacement hulls…but I guess that there are no more on the market other than the RPM.

I have heard good things about the WaveSport Diesel and it is popular around here.

Any thoughts???

thanks

Matt

In the Same Boat
Matt, I am in the exact same place as you right now. I have the older brother to your RPM, a Dagger Animas, and I too get my butt kicked every time the water gets a little dicey. Now, I admit that most of that is user malfunction, but the slicey stern does not help. On a trip to the Nantahala last month, I rented a Pyranha H3-255 for a day and I was amazed at how well it carried me over the rough stuff. My roll sucks and most of the time is non-existant so this is really important. I am currently looking at the H3-255, the Wavesport Diesel 75 and the Pyranha Micro-250. I am a big guy and would appreciate any advise as well regarding these three choices or a better option.

Good luck to you Matt.

Jay

Pryhanah
I owned an H2 255 for a bit but did not like it. It was super stable but I found it hard to roll becuase the hull is so deep. It was difficult for me to get my paddle up in the right position.

I also found it very “squirelly” in rough water—hard to maintain your direction.

Matt

Demo, demo, demo…
…I have a Prijon Performance that I dearly love.

It’s a discontinued model, but the Prijon F265

(or a name quite similar to that) deserves a