Gorilla glue disappointment

I know that some of the better woodworkers on this board use epoxy and/or Titebond III for their projects. Me too.

About a year ago I laminated a bland to make a GP using GG. When I started shaping it I discovered that it was delaminating, so I put it aside and left it sit.

Today I needed a spacer for a clamp, rooted through the scrap wood bin and found a piece of that lamination I had cut from one end. Just the right thickness, but several inches too long. A quick trip through th emitre box was all it needed. Then I looked at the scrap piece that was left.

One lam split off, clearly showing glue evenly distributed on both faces. What a disappointment.

Jim

New products
don’t always endure the test of time and are they worth trying? What is the warranty worth cause it won’t pay for the wasted wood and your time. As a builder I ignore almost everything new on the market. Imagine if you had finished the paddle and sold or given it away.

Yup! Gorilla Glue …

– Last Updated: Feb-08-08 2:07 PM EST –

might be ok fer gluin' apes tagitter, but ain't de best fer wood. Ah' find it does work a little better iffin' yer dampin' both surfaces a little first before yer put on de GG.

FE

I’ve had good luck with Gorilla Glue

– Last Updated: Feb-08-08 2:09 PM EST –

I used it to glue up my fir decking lee boards. They get flexed pretty hard when the wind blows. So far no failures.
I also used it to glue my wife's dining room table back together. The feet are bolted to an 8 sided tube and the weight of the table top was pulling the tube apart. Again so far so good.

Edited to add... I did read somewhere about wiping the wood with a wet rag before glueing. Works for me.

I followed directions
including dampening the surfaces.

The failure was THROUGH the glue - leaving glue residue on both wood surfaces.

Jim

gorilla glue’s been around awhile

Jim…you might
…try going over to QajaqUSA web boards, as I think Brian Shulz had some of the same issues.