Got the itch

To buy another boat. This is my first year and I’ve been using a Dagger Blackwater 10.5 and it does well for the conditions I use it in. I’ve done some flatwater(does great). I’ve done some coastal water (does fine staying close to shore). But my passion is river running where I’ve done class I & II with it. It does pretty good I think, but I have nothing to compare it against. If I had taken up this sport twenty years ago I know I would have had a passion for class III+ whitewater. But I’m a 42 year old mom of 5, so I don’t think I’ll be progressing much beyond class II in the thrill factor at this point. I’m not interested in touring or overnight trips.

So anyhow, I’ve been renting gear to take one of my sons with me each time I want to go out, but I think its time to invest in a second boat. What I haven’t decided, is if I just want to pick up a cheap Dicks boat for the kids to use, and keep using my Blackwater. Or if I want to hand down my Blackwater to the kids and buy me a new one. I feel like I’m ready for something a little more tipsy with more secondary stability (the Blackwater is totally flat on the botton and gets stuck on every rock passing when the water is low). But I’m not sure I want anything longer (maybe up to 12 feet?) for the type of water I’m running. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Also, I know everybody suggests try before you buy, but I haven’t had any luck finding a place to try various models. I’m in Central Virginia if anyone has any suggestions on where to go. Thanks!

If you’ve got the money
Buy up. Your kids should be fine in the Blackwater. In fact, those Dick’s boats are so wide, they may be frustrated learning to paddle them because they aren’t tall enough/don’t have long enough arms to paddle without banging the sides.