GP and Ski

I have been using a GP with my QCC 700 (18’ by 22") for many years, and hardly ever use my wing paddle. Am considering a relatively stable surf ski, Think ACE (18’ by 22"). I often paddle alone on the relatively calm (winds less than 15) San Diego ocean. Not interested in racing and mainly just curious about using a ski. Any comments on ski/GP?

Why not, if you are not looking to compete and win a race that requires optimal fitness and equipment? Before my recent purchase of a Hobie kayak, I fished for years out in Mass Bay with my OK Scupper Pro SOT, powered by a GP. According to my fish finder/GPS, I easily maintain a 3-3.5 MPH pace, depending on the strength of the headwind and opposing tide (I don’t bother to kayak fish if sustained winds are over 20 MPH). I have done 15-20 mile fishing excursions out in the Boston Harbor Islands with this configuration.

sing

I was wondering about a similar thing. I’ve never been to the whitewater place in Charlotte. I thought I’d like to try it… but I sure would feel better about doing it with my GP. When I find myself upside down I want to get upright and that’s the tool that serves me best.

Rex,

With a surf ski, you would remount, not roll.

If you are wondering about using GP with a WW SINK, I saw it done successfully, and well, by jaraa, who used to post on this board. This was in easy conditions at a whitewater park.

OP:

There are some posts at surfski.info from someone who paddled his ski while using a GP. He had injured his shoulder. The GP allowed him to continue paddling while not 100%.

Thanks, I read that thread on surfski.com but that is the only comment I have found on using a GP on a ski in the ocean. Apparently it is not at all common. Maybe there is some fundamental problem with the ski/GP combo.

As an avid ski paddler for a few years now, I have never seen someone with a GP on a ski, but also don’t know of any reason it wouldn’t work.