GPS help

okay blue charts Americas GPS disk is $139.00. with one unlock code. Now in order to unlock other areas to be able to download them to my handheld its $99.00… Does this sound right to anyone else. I’m new to the using GPS. i prefer the map and compass myself.

Garmin, yes?
The GPS you have. And for Garmin you have this pesky problem of having to pay for every new download, and BTW you can only download that chart a certain number of times with that unlok code before you have to pay them all over again. So once you’ve downloaded the thing, save it well.

We have one Garmin and one Magellan, and they are both annoying but in different ways. I am not much fond of the unlock code situation in either of them, though the coastal marine charts that work with the Magellan seem to be cheaper than the same coverage for Garmin.

Map and Compass
I love the GPS, but if you prefer Map and Compass… you should probably ask yourself if you really need BlueCharts, etc.

I use map and compass and gps. I rarely look at the gps, I use it to check for drift, check distances to waypoint/destinations, verify position etc. I find that the base map in the unit is adequate for all of this.

Granted, I live/paddle in a navigationally simple area.

When necessary, I use Google Earth (Free) to set waypoints, then add them as waypoints and routes in the GPS prior to hitting the water.

GPS Help
i was thinking with the Blue Charts i could get to Shipwrecks to Snorkel around Help plan trips with the Wife. that Kinda thing

Try the topo maps
I used Blue Chart Maps for circumnavigating Iceland, because a good topo map was not available. Yes, downloading new sections can get expensive. The Blue Chart Maps are wonderful, great detail and tidal information, but usually I use the Garmin topo maps due to the expense of the Blue Chart Maps.