GPS input needed

For those of you who are into hiking and kayaking, which of these Garmin GPS’s would you recommend for both of those activities?:

GPSMAP 76CSx

GPSMAP 78

GPSMAP 78SC

GPSMAP 62

GPSMAP62S GPSMAP 62ST (it’s more expensive than the 62S, but the 62ST includes US Topographic Maps)

I want to watch my budget, but I also want to make sure that what I get is good for both of these, especially when under dense cover and/or between steep cliffs.

Darwin

daroos@indiana.edu

Why garmin?
Why does it have to be a Garmin? I recently bought a Delorme Earthmate PN-60 and it’s pretty much perfect for my hiking/kayaking/geocaching/mountain biking ventures.

What sold me on it was map access. You can get all kinds of information from topo maps to satellite imagery to NOAA charts from Delorme and the yearly subscription fee is about $25 instead of paying per map as I understand Garmin charges.

60 Series
I have been using a Garmin GPSmap60CX for the last 4 years. It has performed very well while kayaking, hiking and road navigation. This model has been replaced with the 62 series as you have noticed. I like how it fits nicely in the palm of my hand and keep it tethered either to my boat or PFD.

You won’t lose reception with the …
76csx.

In over a thousand miles of use, I have not lost it yet.

It holds it under bridges, in the house, and in dense mangrove tunnels.

jack L

gps
As long as the unit is serviceable the maps really are the key. Detailed water maps and detailed land maps are usually separate.

Ryan L.

GPS…