GPS on windey streams?

I’m just learning to use GPS & mostly paddle streams that snake back and forth continuously. If the GPS always assumes straight-line distance, then I guess you have to make waypoints very close together or it could give a very wrong reading for speed/distance? Also, if it always shows straight-line direction between waypoints, this will often not be the direction you have to paddle to get there. Using a compass is also challenging on windey streams…is there a better way?

GPS will measure distances
even with turns and bends fairly accurately. The device is taking readings from the sattelites constantly (or at least every few seconds) as you are moving, so bends in a stream aren’t likely to be much of a problem. I sometimes run with a handheld GPS, and I notice that when I take a right angle turn on a street, the next reading (a few seconds later)will suggest my running speed has dropped dramatically, from, let’s say, 6.5 MPH to 4 MPH. This is because the GPS assumes you took the shortest distance between its two most recent points–that you “cut the corner.” Even with these little anomalies, a cheap handheld GPS is a pretty darn accurate gauge of my miles run. Canoes and kayaks generally don’t turn at right angles, even on windy streams, so the affect of turns would be even smaller on your journey.

It is true that the GPS unit will tell you the distance from your start point as a straight line distance. But it should also measure how far you’ve actually travelled fairly accurately.

Sometimes
I’ve been in significant debates over what distance was actually traveled because different GPS units behaved differently in capturing all the bends in a travel path on the water. The perfect way to handle this would be, as above, to punch in a waypoint every time you turned but even on open water I don’t care enough to do that.