GPS phone apps?

I use navigation on my phone for driving (on occasion), but I have no experience with off-road GPS, i.e. using it on lakes. It would sound silly, except I did get disoriented in my sailboat once, so I know it can happen. I also saw some comments (somewhere) about using GPS for paddling speed, which to me could be entertaining.

I’m really interested in knowing what apps you guys are using. I’m using an i-phone, but my wife has an Android, so apps for either could work for us. Please let me know what you like!

The only electronics I use are online websites from private parties and/or nonprofits or NGO’s that document places to paddle on my desktop PC. Stuff like the Boston Kayaker or Blue Ways RI websites. I also read on the forums and potentially post on the appropriate ones asking about any inkling of potential challenge or danger I might find in a new place I might not be aware of

I will extensively research places to paddle and read about all possible using the internet. Once I get on the kayak everything goes analog and non-electronic. I use pieces of paper with a map. I use an analog magnetic compass. I also use my eyes for looking around and orienting myself. If there’s a river with various channels or inlets or swamps or side areas or waterfalls that can kill me I will mark those as well and where to turn. What I mean is “TURN LEFT AT THIS FORK TO AVOID DEAD END; CONSIDER EXPLORING BUT KNOW GOING RIGHT WILL TAKE MORE TIME”.