GPS

I lean towards the garmin GPSMAP 76CSx. Is this model very user friendly, especially when I am a GPS novice? Thanks!

More on this topic
I am just in the thinking stage of getting a GPS, so an info on this would be nice. What is the cheapest GPS that could be bought, and really be of good use?

User friendly
The Garmin user interface makes sense to me. As with any unit, you just have to play with it for a while.

Depends what you mean by “useful”. I have an old non-mapping Garmin 12 that I still find useful, but if I was buying something new I wouldn’t buy a unit without some type of map.

76csx
i have this model and have found it to be quite user friendly. you can’t go wrong with this one, though you may find that some of the whistles and bells aren’t used that often. would i buy it again? sure would. -harry

I own one
and I like it a lot. For a pure novice, though, there’s an awful lot to it. Lots of options, settings, and functions and sometimes even I forget how to get to one feature or another and I’m no novice (I’ve been using GPS tech since right after the government turned off selective availability).

Now, if you have a good base understanding of map and compass use, you’ve got a leg up and should be able to grasp everything pretty quickly. If you’re a complete raw newbie, you’ll have a lot to learn before you can milk this thing for all it’s worth.

Good one!
Good choice. You should be able to figure out the basics pretty quickly if you have any sort of technical acumen.

Once you get used to marking and navigating to waypoints you can learn the more advanced features.

One thing. Garmin is coming out with a new line of units very soon, so if you wait a little while you may see the price of the 76 drop.

Got one last month