GPS

I’m doing the Yukon River this coming summer and need to look into GPS devices. The Suunto X10 is a GPS watch that’s certainly expensive but I’m considering it. It would be great to hike with, too, and no doubt its barometer would come in handy. I’m new to kayaking and would definitely appreciate any GPS or other gear-related advice I can get.

I’ll be bringing one or two solar chargers for the camcorder and other electronic gear.

Altimeters dont work in the Yukon
We descended the Snake from Duo lakes to Ft McPherson NWT.

After 50 miles of whitewater descent in the Richardson Mountains one persons watch insisted we had gone up 81 feet.

GPS is just a tool Make sure you have a PLB.

GPS
PLB???

The only maps available for the Yukon are pretty old, plus some parts of the river change course each year. The three of us will likely carriy Walkie-Talkies should we be separated (likely).

Personal Locator Beacon for each of you
also you should probably be carrrying a satellite phone. A PLB will allow search teams to locate you in case of life threatening emergency.

GPS is the last thing of the gear tech things you need. They are fun but IMO of a lower priority than map and compass.

what use?

– Last Updated: Jan-07-10 1:22 AM EST –

What use do you want the GPS for? If just to track where you have been, any small one (like the watch) would work. Make sure they are waterproof, of course. And that you can recharge it or replace batteries (can you do this with a watch style one, that presumably uses watch batteries?).

If you want something to help navigate, then something with a map may be better. I use a Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx for this type of thing, but there are others that do it also. Same caveat holds - make sure it is waterproof and you have ways to recharge the batteries.