Greenland Forward Cant Stroke with Euro?

I am pretty new to using a GP but have been enjoying my experiments with my new Beale paddle.

I am still practicing the forward canted stroke and think I am getting it down pretty well. It definitely feels different and am working to get the feel down so that I can angle the blade just right.

I still prefer a Euro blade most of the time, and like to switch back and forth.

Now that I am getting the feel for the forward cant stroke I found myself canting the blade just a bit on my Euro paddles today (Werner foam core Ikelos and Cyprus). Much to my surprise I found that when the blade was angled right it too would dive in a similar fashion to the GP when using the forward cant stroke, although not nearly as drastically. It actually felt pretty good…smooth without any apparent loss in efficiency (although I did not have enough time on the water to truly judge its efficiency).

Do any of you apply your GP forward cant stroke when using your Euro blade as well?

Would I somehow be achieving less efficiency using this stroke with the Euro blade which was not really intended for this type of presentation?

thanks

Matt

When it was
angled right it would dive? Doesn’t seem right to me. I use a GP and sometimes canted sometimes not, but it dosen’t dive.

Most angle a bit…
… and just don’t notice/pay attention.

Difference is GP is made to do this, and the grip (assuming hands mostly on blade roots - and top hand push controlling) makes it automatic/built in - whereas any significant cant with round/oval shaft euro and wider blade has to be more consciously/forcefully applied to overcome torque from wider blades. Generally it’s easier to flare EP stroke (more winglike) than adding cant - and gives similar flutter free/single vortex benefits. I often do a bit of both with GP.

more…