Greenland paddle advice

At the recent Raystown event,I got to try out a couple of greenland paddles.I found them to be very easy to get used to,and since I tour ,easier on the long haul. I have narrowed it down 3 manfacturers,Beale,Mitchell,Tuktu. All are similar in price,but that is not my deciding factor. I will be primarily using this paddle with a QCC 700/ 21", also a QCC 500 / 23",and a Walden Rec. kayak / 24". The advice I seek ,is what length,and what loom length would work for all the mentioned boats. Or am I kidding myself to use for all of my boats. I am a big guy 5’11" 230lbs. The paddles I tried were 90",and 19" loom,and worked well with the 700. I prefer the non shoulder variety.Your advice is well appreciated.

Happy Paddling billinpa

I’m new to this GP thing too.
I had a friend make me my paddle. The loom length is not like a Euro measurment. The loom should be what you feel comfortable with. What I was asked to do, was to grab a straight shaft a few times with my eyes closed and measure the distance that felt most comfortable. My loom turned out to be 21.5, paddle 88" inches long

I think this has to do with how you use a GP.

You hold it near the shoulder of the loom / blade. Its a matter of comfort and control. I think I would feel pretty jammed up with a 19" loom

The commonly given methods
for sizing are good. No one can really size it for you but you. If 19" loom is OK for your shoulder/natural grip width, what you describe sounds fine.

I’m 2" shorter and have an 88" ( but I have an arm span that exceeds my height by a couple inches - at 5’11 1/2"). I have about a 21" loom (but am broad shouldered for my height). Also paddling Q700.

I have heard nothing but good things about Don Beale’s paddles - but have never held one. Did see a Mitchell at a kayak fest - nice enough, but did not interest me (already spoiled by my Superior). Dimensionally I think it was OK, but finish and construction seemed more like wood canoe paddle than GP.