Greenland paddle with rec kayak?

I have become infatuated with Greenland-style paddles after meeting a fellow kayaker who was using a GP while on a recent river paddling adventure. It was very nice, and now I want one of my own. Unfortunately, I have spent waaaaay too much on my new-found paddling hobby recently, and do not have the extra funds to buy a GP. So, I’m considering making my own as many others have done. Here’s my question:

Since I am pretty new to paddling and I had a very limited budget to begin with, I got stuck with a bathtub toy of a kayak, a Pelican Trailblazer 100 Angler edition. I will be stuck with this boat for the foreseeable future. Would it even be worth the effort to make a GP to use with this kayak? Would I realize any benefit from using a GP? Or would the disadvantages of my rec kayak pretty much negate any potential advantages of a GP?

I know a guy who did it

– Last Updated: Oct-16-14 5:00 PM EST –

He paddled a Swifty with a GP that he made himself - he likes making things. FWIW, he was also relatively uninterested in fancy forward stroke, just liked the feel of the wood over plastic.

Honestly, with a rec boat, the boat is more of a factor than anything else. But that is no reason not to have some fun with the paddle.

Go For It…
Though you may end up wanting to make several to find what works best for you and your boat…

Let me know if you have any questions…

Bill

Love the looks…