Greenland paddles with wider boat

Is anybody happily using a GP on a “beamy” boat?

I have been using GPs for the last 8 years and feel really uncomfortable with euro paddles however I’m not happy using a GP on my new family boat, a CD Double Vision (28” wide).

Right now I’m using a Toksook that was collecting dust in the garage, better than a “standard” euro but not as pleasant as a GP.

Would an Aleut paddle work better with a wider boat?

Aleuts had wider boats
…and used both single blade and long loomed double blade paddles. I used to use my 84" GP with my Pungo before I sold the boat…actually got my first roll in it. Anyhoo, because the loom was pretty standard, 18-19", I had to use a sliding stroke when cruising, but it worked just fine.

Jim

Custom
Go custom and you can make a GP fit any kayak. A longer loom and over all length should do fine. I use to use one with a Tsunami 12.5 and it was pretty efficient.

Gary

We use Seda Tango with GP’s
We have Seda Tango and we use Greenland paddles with that. Works just fine.

Yup, that should do it
A longer loom will help you reach out past the wide gunwales.

Lenght of loom
I agree customization is the way to go however how comfortable on the paddler is a GP with a loom “taylored” to the width of the boat?

Using the standard grip don’t you end up with spreaded arms?

With that said I guess the best way is trying one… or two… or more

Within reason
A longer loom within reason to clarify. If the kayak is 28" wide you should not order a 28" loom. Maybe 21 to 22" would work fine. Overall length could easily be up to 92" It’s hard to say but any good paddle maker would have a reasonable suggestion.

Gary

Had 104" GP with a comfortable loom
width made for my Wen-Vag noe and love it. Easily clears the gunwales. Bremer watched me paddle a while with a 10’ closet pole marked at various loom and blade lengths to get most comfortable and effective measurements. Just thoughts. R

I would probably go a bit wider…