Greenland rolls help

Hi, new to the board here and I have a question about greenland rolls. My girlfriend and I just purchased used kayaks (Valley avocet rm for me and ws tempest 165 for her) This is my first foray into sea kayaking. I purchased some greenland paddles and we have been loving them so far. We have spent probably a total of 10 hours in lakes and rivers learning self rescue, rolls and sculling/bracing. This is all self taught, working weekends makes it near impossible to sign up for a kayaking clinic in my area. We both have the standard greenland roll down so that we can hit it nearly everytime. I guess my question is which greenland rolls are going to be most useful in the real world. From what I can tell it seems the standard greenland and the storm roll would be the two best options? I’m just trying to figure out where I should direct my efforts in terms of learning rolls. I would love some more informed input on the matter though. Thanks in advance.

Dan

Just my opinion
but I like the sculling roll. One advantage is the continuious sculling stroke qives you more time to adapt to conditions.

http://www.qajaqusa.org/should have some good discussion and instruction.

Good luck

Randy

Thoughts
Dan - it sounds like you are off to a good start. You have two nice boats and have found the charm of the GP.

The standard roll will do you well in the real world. That said, I’d recommend you work on side sculling, balance brace, and angel roll. Mastering these will allow you to “own” your rolls. Body flexibility is helpful - do some yoga if you need to improve this.

Work on rolling proficiency on both sides, and on switching sides underwater. Each new roll you work on will improve your overall skills, making other rolls more certain and consistent.

Have fun with it!

Alan

For Me

– Last Updated: May-20-12 6:04 AM EST –