Greenland Storm Paddles

I switched to a Greenland paddle a couple of years ago. Since then,I have aquired a few full size GPs. I am now thinking of adding a storm paddle to my collection as a back up paddle.I have played with one a couple of times but not long enough to have a solid opinion. For those that have SPs, how often do you use them? Are they an effective back up?Trying to decide if he will be money well spent or a dust collector. I carry a back up paddle most of the time.

depends
I have been using traditional paddles exclusively for a few years now (Aleut and GPs).

I paddle only with full length and don’t have a short one as backup.

Recently I snapped one of my paddles and had to use my buddy’s short one to paddle a few miles. I was OK on flat water (the sliding stroke doesn’t come natural to me since I had so little practice) but swapped it for a full length one when surf landing and my buddy used the short one.

Moral of the story: if you don’t learn how to use the sort one proficiently maybe it won’t be that great when really needed. While my buddy often paddles with the short one and he can maintain the same speed as the long one, I found the short one not as good.

Obviously practice makes perfect.

I don’t even go in the pool without my
storm. It is as needed, if not more, than any other piece of gear I have. I can maintain the same cruising speed with my storm as I can with my standard length paddle. If you have another back up paddle then it is obviously not necessary. My Storm stows nicely on the foredeck and I reach for it instinctively after having carried it for the time I have. I practice my rolls with it, and I use it to break up the monotony of longer paddles, while the change in muscles used gives my body a break as well. While I could function fine without one, I would never choose to do so. It has become my bankey and woobi. Bill

Storm Paddles