Grumman Canoes

I’ve got an old Grumman canoe; 15’ long, pretty wide, very flat bottom, and it has what looks to be like Bulkheads at both the bow and stern. They are attached to the hull with evenly spaced pair sets of Phillips head screws. Is there a reason for these to be there?

They don’t seem to keep out and water as there is almost a 1/8” space between them and the hull (except where attached with screws), they take up space, and really large colonies of ants seem to enjoy taken up residence in them.

As far as I can tell, as long as I put back the screws so the holes don’t leak it should be fine. However, I am not a canoe designer and I was wondering if anyone out there knows more about this or has experience with doing this and could offer their advice on the matter.

Thanks.

Try contacting…
Marathon Boat Works. They are a small town manufacturer that kept the old Gruman Canoe factory alive in Marathon, NY.

www.marathonboat.com

Best of luck,

T

Usually there is foam floatation in
those bulkheads. If none is floating out when you wash it, then it may be tight and good. Sunlight destroys the old styrofoam in those canoes, maybe gasoline too. My philosophy about old aluminum canoes and the bulkheads is to leave them alone if the canoe floats high in the water and doesn’t appear to plough. Other than to check the possible floatation, why take them apart? Do they bother you? If its curiosity, do it, but be prepared to add new floatation.

Two things to do

– Last Updated: Sep-24-06 3:05 AM EST –