Hard Chine or Multi Chine

Hard Chine or Multi Chine, and why…

I am trying to make up my mind on a Pygmy wood boat kit and I am torn between the Coho which is multi chined and the Arctic Tern which is hard chine.

I am a novice in my first season paddling and currently paddle a Perception America 13.5. My weight is 240 and height is 6’2". My interests are day trips on the Columbia River, lakes around Mt St Helens and the Willapa Bay.

Coho http://www.pygmyboats.com/mall/coho.asp

Tern http://www.pygmyboats.com/mall/Tern.asp

Thanks for the information.

volume considerations
you will get some interesting and possibly confusing responses on this one mate. many different ideas of how different chines feel and perform.

the rounder the profile the more internal volume for your gear and feet.

the hard chine may feel slightly tippier on center but feel a more distinctive secondary stability on it’s side. it may also feel tippier once you go past this edge; and very quickly. the hard chine will track and turn perhaps a tad more briskly when first initiated.

JBV

ok
if you are used to a ruddered kayak the Coho with a rudder would be a very good choice. It weathercocks slightly but the point at which a lean compensates requires good thigh brace outfitting and a lean. The Tern won’t require as much skill but it’ll require more attention to go straight.

Both are good designs, the Tern will teach you correct paddling, the Coho will require a bit more skill to control in high wind but it’ll be faster/more stable although the Tern is not a tippy boat as kayaks go.

Basically it’ll get down to Tern for turning ease, Coho for stability/speed.

Your size/weight is perfect for either one.

I have been