have you ever gone into a

shop to ask a question about a ww-boat that the store has presently…and had the owner snap at you “its my boat” when you say “i have a question about the boat outside”???when it is on their racks with their retail and rental boats…

interesting for this store to do this…just wondering if anyone else had received a STRANGE response to a basic question like that…

i then asked to sit in it…and was told that i had better not screw anything up in it…(when the speaker knew that i work as an instructor and previously in a retail shop)…then when i looked inside to check out the footpegs i discovered that the speaker had to modify the bulkhead to make them fit in it (foot pegs were pulled so far towards the seat they had to spread the bars hodling the bulkhead…hence the not screwing it up…wouldn’t it have been easier to say in a nice tone: 'feel free to take a peek at it, it is my personal boat that i have had to modify so that i fit in it."???i know that is what i have had to say before to people looking at my boats…

just a weird incident…hmmmmm

(names in the above post have been removed in an attempt to save any face for this store)

Several possibilities
1) Guy is just having a bad day, and you stumbled into it. Give him another chance sometime down the road.

2) Guy is someone who simply hasn’t had the training to know how to properly interact with a potential customer. Shame on the store management for putting him in this position.

3) Guy is just an asshole that doesn’t deserve your business. Silver lining is that you need an occasional asshole sometimes so you can fully appreciate the GOOD folks in the world! Take him as such.

You decide which is the case and proceed accordingly.

Sounds like one of those “local” dealers

– Last Updated: Sep-24-06 7:01 AM EST –