Hello everyone! (introduction)

I thought I’d introduce myself. I’m a 34yr old resident of Kentucky. I just bought my fiancee and I a pair of kayaks then put together a trailer and modded it to pull them. I have Cystic Fibrosis and numerous other diseases. My doctors have been trying to get me to get out and be more active for years. Since Kayaking has become much more prevalent around here I decided to give it a go and we LOVE it! We have the cheap Sun Dolphin Aruba 10’s. I have a couple modifications in mind I’d like to do to mine and need to find a cooler for it as well, but I mainly just want to get out and explore! Here’s a pic of my Blazer pulling the kayaks. I’m thinking about lowering the trailer 2".

That is great! Welcome to our world.

Nice little trailer set-up. I don’t know why you would want to lower it.

As to adding a cooler to a kayak that is never a good idea with a sit-inside boat. Adding bulky items to the deck affects stability and also makes re-entering the kayak if you capsize nearly impossible. If you want to carry things and keep them cool, get a small soft insulated cooler and put the stuff in the rear hatch. Keep your deck clear.

Also, be aware that those cheap recreational kayaks do not have bulkheads (sealed compartments in both ends) so if they flip or get tipped they will fill with water and sink. You can get inflatable flotation bags that stash under the decks to displace the water and give the boat more buoyancy. If you don’t choose to use those, don’t take the kayaks in water that is deeper than you can stand or paddle farther from shore than you can comfortably swim yourself to the bank hauling the kayak, because you will be unable to empty it on the water.

Presume that you already know that those boats should not be used in whitewater of any kind or in the ocean. They are fine for slow shallow streams and calm sheltered lakes.