Help buying my first kayak.

-- Last Updated: Jun-15-07 9:08 AM EST --

I'm a beginner, but when I tackle any outdoor sport like this I want to push it as far as I can take it. I need something that will give me a little bit of room to grow in; I'd like to be nailing rolls and other advanced stuff as soon as I'm ready. I'm looking for something that can do light touring. Daily destinations would be lakes and the Mississippi River with less frequent trips up to Lake Superior. I can get a deal on Necky, Old Town, Dimension, and Ocean Kayak. Right now I am split between the Old Town Cayuga 130 and the Necky Manitou 14. I'd for sure consider the Manitou 13 if people think it is ok for light touring. I like everything about the Manitou, but I read on a thread here that you can't get thigh pads for it making rolling pretty darn hard. I'm trying not to go over $1000. I'm 5-6 and 160 pounds. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

http://www.oldtowncanoe.com/kayaks/recreation_touring/cayuga_130.html

http://www.necky.com/kayaks/day_touring/manitou_14.html

Used RM Avocet
All available in RM and should be findable used -P&H Capella 163 or lower number, Necky Chatham 16, or WS Tempest 165 (I think you are closer to a 165 than a 170 sizing, but maybe flatpick can help there) - in other words a 16’ boat in plastic to make it cheaper that is fairly manuverable and forgiving, so will support skills well and be enough day boat for a place like Lake Superior where stuff can get big.

I personally don’t think you are currently looking in the right group of boats for what you describe you want to do.

Thanks for the reply.