help choosing a kayak

I’m hoping someone out there can give me some advice. I am looking to buy a kayak to replace my last one. I am a beginner and usually kayak in my harbour and the ocean, but not when it’s windy (so there may be some ripply waves, but no white water). I am a female and weigh about 135 lbs. I really want something that’s easy to maneuver and lightweight so I can haul it in and out of my jeep without too much trouble. I don’t mind getting wet while kayaking and am not looking for anything too fancy. any recommendations would be really great!! Thanks! aimee

Future plans?
BTW, what was your last kayak?

Do you plan to stay in your harbor or are you thinking about pushing further out over time?

Look at
the Wilderness Systems Tsunami line in a Duralite. As long as you aren’t looking to do any extensive ocean touring in rough conditions they should meet your needs. The SP or 120 will probably be the best fit for you given your size. However if you want the better tracking and handling of something longer like a 14’ boat you could consider the 140 but the fit may be pretty loose.

Good luck!

re: future plans
my last Kayak was a scupper pro from Ocean Kayak. It was really long and made for diving, which I don’t do. It just felt too big for me…I do plan on leaving the harbor some, but I don’t plan on going too far, just hugging the coastline…

re: look at
There’s a dealer right down the street–I’ll check them out and see if they carry that model. Thanks so much for the tip! aimee

Check out the boats
from Hurricane Aqua Sports.They have a new 14 boat which sounds like it would be a nice boat. The are very light weight and nice looking

Since you paddle alone
If you aren’t going out too far you can make it without a ton of boat in terms of length, but I would look for deck rigging and bungie lines so that you can get back into a boat yourself should you capsize. Ocean stuff is still that, even close to shore, and it can get bumpy.