Help choosing kayak - sit in or sit on top

Hi, I’m looking to buy my first kayak after only borrowing or renting them for some time. I live in a city not far from both lakes and the ocean.

There are two kayaks for sale - perception sound 9.5 (sit in) and perception rambler 9.5 (sit on top).

I assume the Rambler is more versatile for both ocean kayaking and calm river/lake kayaking, but I kind of really like the idea of owning a sit in?

I’m a bit torn and would just love to hear experiences with either and which environments both work well in.

Thank you!

Either of those are ok for the lakes. Neither should be in the ocean. The Rambler might grow into minimal ocean use after you learn how to paddle and get some serious experience in windy/rough water conditions. Taking some basic lessons are the best $$$s you will spend learning how to kayak.

2 Likes

I have experience ocean kayaking, I’ve been doing so for several years, just in someone else’s kayak. Wasn’t sure if the rambler was a good enough ocean kayak to be considered a true versatile kayak for both lake and ocean. Their website says it can, but I’m looking to know whether it ~should~ go in the ocean.

They are rec kayaks not made for the ocean or open bays. Ocean you need minimum 14-15’ with a spray skirt. Really 16’+ is the ticket. They can say what they like to make a sale but they won’t be with you out there. It’s all BS.

4 Likes

PD52’s comments are spot on. The quick, direct answer is no. The rambler is not built to safely use in the ocean if you have any wind, current, or rough conditions.

2 Likes

Perception does not recommend the Rambler or the Sound for use in the ocean, where conditions can change rapidly.