help for a beginner?

Well, like the title says, I’m a beginner. Actually, i’ve never even canoed or kayaked. So, im a beginning beginner. Ive tried to do reasearch on my own but there is a lot more to picking out the right canoe than i initially anticipated and since its not exactly a cheap purvhase i want to be confident in my choices.

I was initially torn between canoeing and kayaking but because id like to take my small daughter with me sometimes and my fur baby i chose a canoe as we can all fit comfortably.

Now that i made that decision i dont know how to take the next step and pick the right one.

I’ll mainly be canoeing in the rivers by our house. Starting out obviously i wont be going for more than a few hours at a time. But i would eventually like to go for day trips/overnight camping. Im sure once i buy it my boyfriend will want to take it out for fishing trips.

Im a small girl. 25. Im obviously not the strongest and im worried about how difficult paddling and manuevering the boat would be for me.

Im not sure what other inormation might be considered important when picking a canoe. If i failed to include something just ask.

If anyone can give me any advice to help me pick my first canoe i would greatly appreciate it.

Lots…
of things to consider. First, what kind of rivers are they near your house? I would assume they are slow and mostly flat water. If not…if they are even a little fast, you’ll need some practice and probably instruction before going out on them with a kid and a pet. And instruction wouldn’t be a bad idea no matter what. Also, the type of water will have a bearing on the kind of canoe you want.