Help! I Need canoe-buying advice quick!

Hey everyone, need your advice:

Wife and I are looking for a Kevlar canoe and I found one on Craigslist for $700. It’s a 1984 Wenonah 18.5’ Jensen. Looks to be in fine shape for being 36 years old, but I have a few concerns:

There is a patch about the diameter of a soda can, he said the previous owner had put the patch on. I wish I could share pictures of all this but I can’t Bec I’m new. He sent me pictures of the internal side of where the patch is and it doesn’t show any evidence of the damage nor the repair on the exterior.

He says he’s owned it for 22 years and he hasn’t stored it inside but he’s kept it under a tarp.

I grew up with a Coleman canoe and I’ve done a couple boundary waters trips in rented Kevlar canoes, so I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to Kevlar canoes. Any thoughts/ advice is most appreciated!

I’ve got a kevlar Wenonah fisherman, but I have never had to repair it. However, a kevlar boat is basically a fiberglass build with a different fabric and possibly a different resin. So if he repaired the gelcoat properly on the outside and the damage is not in a likely impact spot, I would probably go for it. If it is in a likely impact spot, you can always reinforce it. Sorry if this wasn’t helpful, but I’m sitting here waiting for replies on my first post as well, so I thought I’d give you a response out of newbie unity and courtesy.

1 Like