Help! Loading my Yak on my SUV alone!

I am in desperate need of some good advice! I am fairly new to Kayaking and as you all know after just one time I was hooked! So I went out and bought a kayak, and “J” cradles from Malone for my factory roof rack on my Saturn Vue. They LOOK great! Now if I only I could use them! I have checked out the Loaders for sale on the internet, and since I don’t have a Yakima or Thule Roof rack, and no trailer hitch, I am flat out of ideas. I was able to some how get my Yak on the roof once but I scratched both my car and my boat so I need a better way! My Yak is 13 ft and weighs about 58 pounds. It is usually just me and my 4 year old, And unfortunatly I am a wimp! Any tips, suggestions, advice or products you all know about are greatly appreciated! The cheaper the better! (This has become a very expensive habit of mine!)Thanks

I am not sure of your set up, but…
can you possibly get some kayak cradles to replace the J cradles.

I glued some indoor outdoor carpet to my cradles which allows the kayak to slide.

You can than put the bow of the kayak on the cradles and then pick up the stern and slide the kayak forward.

Cheers,

JackL

Read this thread
Ignore the advice to buy a new car and follow the helpful hints.

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=474326

I have the same problem with my Yakima
setup. What I do is pull the end caps and slid in a couple of extender bars that I made from some round steel stock. I then lift the back end of the yak up on the extender bar towards the back then do the same for the front of the yak. After it is up on the extender bars I stand on my 4’ ladder and just lift the yak onto the j-cradles. Maybe you can rig something like this for your setup

Towel
Try draping a towel over your vehicle to prevent scratches.

Single SUV kayak loader