Help Making a Decision

-- Last Updated: Jul-10-10 8:11 PM EST --

I need some help making a decision . . . I am new to kayaking and plan to purchase my first kayak in the next week. I live on the Chesapeake Bay (between Baltimore and Annapolis). My current primary interest is to paddle the bays and rivers/creeks in this area, crossing to Sparrows Point, paddling the Annapolis area, etc. I am 5'6 and 200lbs.

I am looking at the following kayaks -

Delta Kayaks Twelve 10 (thermoformed)
Delta Kayaks Fourteen 5 (thermoformed)
Current Designs Vision 140 (composite hybrid)
Current Designs Kestrel 140 (recreational - composite hybrid)

I have looked at the Delta's at REI (can't test drive them, though). Also looked at the Current Designs boats in Annapolis and test drove the rotomold CD kayak.

I like the Current Design kayaks because of their weight and availability from a local supplier. However, I found no difference when comparing the "fit" of the Twelve 10 and Vision. The Twelve 10 is also about $500 cheaper (when compared to the 14 footers). The 14 footers are priced comparably. So, I can't decide if I should save some money and get the 12' or go to a 14' even if it might not be necessary given where I want to paddle.

Given my location, interests, size, and the quality of the above kayaks, can anyone help me with my decision?

Thanks,
Jason

A couple ideas…
First, while I can understand your wish to get a boat as soon as possible, I wonder if you’ve had a chance to paddle enough different boats to help make your first choice a good one? (one that you’ll be happy with at least long enough to build some skills and more deeply develop your personal preferences).