help me choose my first kayak

i know this is a dumb question to ask but i have become uterly confused from reading reveiws and articles , let alone all the web sites of manufacturers. i have no experience with kayaks , little with canoes.my motivation for pyrchasing a kayak is to make enjoying the small lakes,rivers(slow)and ponds near my home more conveineint solo,i can handle my canoe alone but it is less than conveinient.i will use it almost soley for sight seeing and photography but would like something i can use for a week end camping trip as well.i really like the strait 120 and 140 but am concerned about sun damage/deformity as i live in semi tropical florida.i intended to buy a used boat but have not found anything localy that suits my purpose. i would prefer to stay in the price range of the straits or lower if possible . any input will be greatly appreciated .

thanks ,eb.

there are no dumb questions
A suggestion: buy your first one used. You might find you want to branch out after a season or two, and buying used, you can limit your losses.

Check out the kayaks for sale in your state here in the classified section, there are quite a few. Any floridians want to make recommendations on any of those?

The advice is free but if you feel the need to assign a value to it - I’ll take the “timeless beauty” nordkapp listed in the ads, thank you!

Eddyline
Try eddyline Equinox. 14 feet, high quality thermoform, stable.

Let me wholeheatedly recommend
a 12 or 14 foot SOT (Sit on Top). If you are a big guy or want to do anything over about 15 miles, lean towards the longer models. Think WS Tarpon, Native Manta Ray, or a Mad River Synergy. A Scupper Pro TW or the equivalent RTM Tempo. These all have a tank well behind the paddler that is easy access and could complement your diving hobby as you could dive right off the kayak.