Help Me If You Can..Please

I am a beginner who has made one trip… I am in love.

I live i mile from some good water short creek and town creek and can’t believe this has been under my nose for 36 yrs. I went in a borrowed Kayak. I weigh 280. I flipped alot as it took a bunch to get used too. I got the hang of some beginning elements at the end. I loved being outside and I loved the cold water here in January. My friends said I need to get a canoe as the kayak i borrowed set to low in the water and my build is just no good for what I was in.

Please give me recommendations on what to do as

i have searched and seem limited by weight to this great sport and outdoor activity. I don’t want to miss anymore great opportunities to be outside. We talked about doing a camping trip and a day away would be great.

PS I am on a diet

but unless I cut off a leg 230 is it I am just not built to be 190 and that ^#^#^#.

Joey

Beginner

Check the specs
on whatever boat you are planning to purchase. The all have a maximun weight. You can exceed some of them by 10 to 15 percent, but I would recommend finding one with a capacity closer to your weight.

What did you enjoy the most
about your trip? On the water speed, getting in and out of the boat to explore? Are you interested in photography or fishing from a boat? Lots of questions you can ask yourself before moving to the big question. What kind of boat will better meet your needs? Canoe or kayak?

If kayak, surely there is a model out there that will suit you. But don’t choose kayak simply because that’s what you started out in.

A canoe might be the best choice. There are many models that will fit you and your gear too. Some models will keep up with and even outperform kayaks in longer than short sprints. Voyager for one. Carries lots of gear too.