Help me spend my money....

Ok so the dog days of winter are finally here and I am left to dream about paddling for a few more months. So it’s time to think about a new boat. I have been paddling a hand-me-down Pungo on and off for a few years. I think it’s a boat great because it was free and it got me out paddling.

Now that I know I am hooked I am looking to upgrade a little bit. I’ve put away some money about $1000. I have had my eye on the Hurricane Watersports Santee 116, but I am looking for other suggestions.

Here are my criteria:

1. 12 foot or less… due to storage issues.
  2. I am leaning away from roto-molded plastic, but I am open to suggestions.
  3. I am looking to paddle in lakes, slow moving rivers, and possibly near shore coastal paddling.

So how would you spend my money.

– Jeremy

Height and weight?
It’ll matter, less than in a 17 ft boat but still would be helpful to know.

Stats
Height: 6’

Weight: 235

– Jeremy

I have a Hurricane
Tracer. I can’t speak to the Santee 116. I have never been in one, but the company as a whole is great. There customer service is quick and friendly when you call. I have talked to them 3 time about different thing (only one was for a problem which they fix free of charge). You have to leave a call back number but you will get called back. They call me back inless that an hour each time. And you do not speak with a service rep. You speak to one of the owners or principals.

They are a small owner operated company no big corprate structure to get lost in.

Try the boat. If you like it buy it. There were several Hurricane boats in the classifieds here.

Dave

try a Prijon Capri Tour
It’s a stronger, better plastic. Ebay often has new ones for around $600 plus shipping. Not sure what the weight limit is though.

The Santee is very nice.

I like the Old Towns too except didn’t much care for the Adventure. Loon and Dirigo are good. But you didn’t want rotomolded…