help on finding canoe

I am in need of a canoe for my family and I. I am new to this and do not know much about them. I am needing something that is very versitile. I do not plan on taking it to rough waters for my two children are 2 and 4. But I need something that is light weight, very very stable, that can hold 600-800#, can easily attach a trolling motor for fishing and is priced reasonably. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I have checked all of my local stores and I can’t seem to find what I am needing. I did find a Sportspal canoe that seemed to fit my needs but it was just a little pricy.

Sportspals are specialty type canoes,
and it sounds like you are looking for a good deal on a

used one. Good luck!

You could also consider a canoe with rowing capability.

Quite a few into that.

Although, with youngens in consideration, and their growing, I’d also look into a jon boat. More room, and

rowing is fun and healthy. Oh, and the electric trolling motor can be positioned in the middle of the transom, where it is most efficient. Then too, a square stern canoe. Even in your niche of usage, some options to consider…

a helpful document

– Last Updated: Jan-23-09 11:31 PM EST –

Your post is very good and covers a lot of the issues when looking for a boat to fit your needs.

I would also suggest looking for a good used boat. Do some internet searches. Contact any local clubs or paddling groups you can find. Contact any local place that rents canoes to see if they ever sell off all or part of their fleet. Search, search, search. Good used canoes are out there, but you have to look for them.

Click on this link:
http://vrc.home.mchsi.com/helpingyouradvisor.pdf