Help on Finding Solo WW Canoe

First off I’m about 6’1" 160ish lbs… I have been paddling a Mohawk Intrepid for over two years now and progressively hitting rougher water up to some small class III… I would love to get into solo canoeing but have never been and not sure if there are any outfitter shops around me that will let me demo one… I was needing advice on a good beginner friendly solo ww canoe… I would love to get into this sport and build my way up to some rough water… I’m hoping to find something used already outfitted cause $1,500 for a new outfitted canoe is a little out of my budget especially for something I’ve never done…

right now I don’t know of any for sale
But you’re doing well by asking. Hopefully someone will know of something. Cboats.net is great place for WW canoe happenings. Maybe someone over there will know of something for sale.

Once you make the move to a dedicated WW canoe you’ll wonder why you didn’t do it sooner.

Thanks
Going to check the website out now…thanks!!

Whitewater solo…

– Last Updated: Jun-12-12 1:49 PM EST –

Found these in 15 minutes on Virginia Craigslist:

Richmond: Mad River Outrage X

Danville: Mohawk XL 13

Winchester: Dagger Impulse

Fredericksburg: Blue Hole Sunburst

Prices varied, as did the amount of outfitting in place.

You can get a lot more information on these canoes by checking out the Pnet reviews section.

I have owned & paddled the Outrage X, XL 13, and Impulse.Sold the XL 13 & Impulse pretty quick. Paddled the Outrage X for a couple of years; then sold it & got a new Mohawk Probe 12 II.

It is quite possible for a beginner to start in an Outrage X, and continue to paddle it up too & beyond class 3. In my opinion, the other 3 mentioned are slower, and less manueverable than the Outrage X. The X might be a handful for a 160 pound beginner at first?

Good luck,

BOB

'em R big boats for a 160 pound paddler

Might have a line on a Dagger Rival
email if you are interested.

Big boats…