Help: Passage 14 noise on RAV-4 rack

-- Last Updated: May-06-10 3:09 AM EST --

I'm a canoeing beginner, and just bought a Mad River Passage 14 from Dick's. Looking at Mad River's website, it looks exactly like Adventure 14 except for the padded seats. I tried to carry the Passage 14 on my RAV 4 factory installed rack, and was shocked by the loud noise when the car goes beyond 35 MPH. Does anyone know how to get rid of that noise? Or make it quieter? Thanks a lot.

three things
first if you are using straps put a few extra twists in them to get rid of the harmonics. Secondly be stationed with the artillery for a few years third turn up the radio.

Not being a wise guy, This is what I have done!

Yup - you’re going to get some noise
no matter what. Could be vibrations from the straps, or the factory cross bars. By coincidence, I had my 13’ WW canoe on the factory rack of a friend’s RAV-4 this weekend. It was pretty noisy, but worked out fine otherwise. Still, you might consider a more substantial set of cross bars from Thule or Yakima.

Had RAV…
and factory racks,but I added Thule crossbars. Talk about noise then. Do what others reccommended and turn up the radio. Nothing can be done about aerodynamics of an upside down long parachute,and drag noise of wind at 55mph.

billinpa

Maybe will help…
You can get some minor improvements by twisting the straps, but probably too minor to help a lot with a canoe. If you can, play with the spread between the bars (lengthen). You may get some benefit by adding an air foil to the front of the rack - in Subies this tends to not be optional unless you like road noise.

Last resort - hum along with it.

changed rack on Rav4
I removed the total roof rack on my 07 Rav4 and made adaptor plates to install Thule fit kit for Tracker Two feet for Thule bars. It was quite a bit of work figuring it all out that I won’t rehash here.