Help! Sore Bums

We really enjoy our canoe (Bell Northstar) but the cane seats really hurt your bum after 1-2 hours. What can we do to help with this withuot adding height with a cushion? If a cushion is the only answer what kind is the best.

Thanks for any help

You might switch 'em out
for a contoured cane or web seat. The web seats will out live the cane, and sag far less in the process. I believe Bell has 'em, if not they can be replaced with anyones contoured seats.

A plug for Eds Canoe
I recently bought a contoured seat (wide solo model) from esdcanoe.com. Great service, great workmanship, and very comfortable.

If you do not want to go the route of replacing the seats you can atry Crazy Creek-type seat pads/backrests. Be forewarned though that most of the ones available will raise your seated heigth 1.5 - 2 inches. One option might be the Skwoosh seatpads, but I have no experience with them.

If you are a D-I-Y type and can sew, e-mail me and I will provide some pics of what I am doing for my Bell Magic.

Jim

Jim

seat pads
The closed cell foam pad seat covers from Granite Gear, Cooke Custom Sewing and, if memory serves, Ostrom, are all pretty thin. Some can be had with underseat storage attached that serve the same function as a thwart bag and others are just the pad w/straps. All would probably work well. The thing about flat cane seats is that they really don’t need much of a cover to make them acceptable. However, you are certainly correct to avoid raising your COG more than the absolute minimum, a problem with most of the gel pack seat covers that are out there.

sure cure for sore bums
kneeling!

(of course for some, the cure is worse than the disease)

It doesn’t take much cushioning
It sounds like there’s some good advice here. All I can add is that it really doesn’t take much extra cushioning to make a world of difference.