Help w/ Faster SOT

Hey all! I’m fairly new to paddling, although not as new as I was when I posted previously. My husband & I have been out on the water a good bit since then and for sure - I love it! I currently paddle an OK Drifter and my husband has a Perception Sport Jazz. We aren’t matched very well and are planning to buy me something a bit faster so that he can move up into my Drifter. Therein lies the trouble - how in the world do I choose what to move up into? We’d like to stay under about $1200, but that still leaves a world of options open. Let me tell you what we’ll be doing:

Spending A LOT of time at Clark Hill (J. Stom Thurmond) Lake in GA exploring coves and crossing a fair piece of open water since we live very close. Paddling (down) the Savannah River and Augusta Canal. Going to med. size lakes at State Parks around GA and the Ogeechee River. We’d like to visit the salt marshes (starting with guided tours) around Savannah/Tybee Island and start doing some of the day trips out to Little Tybee, etc. Not interested in much white water or surfing, but WILL be crossing some ocean and waves. We’d like to work up to some weekend trips as well, but not looking to paddle for days across huge water.