Help with buying a sea kayak - Please

I’m considering buying a kayak and am currently looking at a 4 yr old 17 FT Wilderness Systems Sealution and a 6 month old 16FT Lincoln Schoodic. I am an amateur user and will primary use the kayak in the Virginia Beach, VA eastern shore, NC outer banks areas. I am 6’2" and weigh 210 lbs. Both kayaks are kevlar. What factors should I consider? Is the Sealution a good kayak? Was kevlar manufacturing done well 4 years ago? Thanks.

Here is info on Lincoln’s kayak.

http://www.lincolncanoe.com/kayaks.htm

Oceanside or soundside?
Paddling in the sound area is dramatically different than paddling in the ocean.

Kayak
The Lincoln kayak seems better for some one without much experience . The Sealoution

is a good design ,yet may be a bit tippy . The Lincoln is said to be a stable kayak.Their

boats are listed as being very light .Kevlar may age if exposed to a lot of sunlight . It

also may gain weight from cracks or leaks .

The only problem with the Lincoln , is not many people have tried the kayak ,it being a

new model of an obscure company .A dealer near me sells them yet I never tried one

out .They are interesting . John

Thanks
Thanks John. The Lincoln is going for twice the price of the Wilderness. I wonder if it will be large enough for my frame.

Sealution
I had a Sealution years ago andit was a good sea kayak. retty forgiving, handled well…easy to roll, pretty fun kayak to paddle. If the price is right…grab it!

Cheers…Joe O’

Kayak
Lincoln has a new model out that is a bit wider and has a larger cockpit.You should

check out their website .I found it through the “Jersey Paddler”.com site .Jersey Paddler

should be able to tell you more about both boats.They are the ones who warned me about

the Sealoution being a bit tippy .Another dealer also cautioned me about the latter kayak.

If you are going to be spending a good amount of time and money on a kayak , you