help with cross bars

I need some help, my local kayak shop doesn’t even know what a kayak stack is! I am new to kayaking and am looking to get cross bars for my 13 rav 4. I plan on putting 4 kayaks on top, wife’s, mine, and the 2 kids. I have no idea what cross bars to buy or the length bars i need for topping 4 kayaks. I’m assuming kayak stacker for the middle for 2 kayaks but do i need some other cradles for the other 2? Kayaks so far are 2 pungo 120’s and a Necky 13, have yet to get the youngests kayak yet. Thank you in advance for you help.

We have stacked four sea kayaks

– Last Updated: Jun-21-16 10:11 PM EST –

Note that it was sea kayaks, you may need more width even with boats on their sides. I favor pretty shallow sea kayaks, over i5 inches (oops,ignore the 25 inch earlier typi) the deck is getting too high for me. But Jim too average sized guy boats.

Due to a inattentive moment on my part, we ended up with 58 inch cross bars for the latter half of that time. I found myself really missing the 63 inch bars we had before, because getting the second boat up on each side became a fussier operation. The extra 5 inches on the 63 inch bars made a noticeable difference.

Check your boat depth, you may want even longer than 63 inches.

All your boats are plastic, so you could skip some of the padding, like putting pool noodles around the strap for the inside boat to act as a cushion between in and the outer boat.

The arrangement is not all that complicated. One boat inside, on its side, strapped to the stackers. Link to ProLines site selling Yakima stacker here, Thule has stackers, the ProLine site is nice because it shows you how to run the strap. http://www.prolineracks.com/item/Yakima-Kayak-Stacker-Roof-Rack-Carrier-341