Help with first kayak

-- Last Updated: Mar-17-10 11:35 PM EST --

I'm sure there have been posts on this topic before, and I have read quite a bit of the reviews on this site, but I could still use some help. A lot of the reviews I seem to read rate the boats 8s and 9s and 10s, but they can't all be equally as good :)

I'm a definitely a beginner, and won't be doing anything more than going on small lakes, bigger ones if they're on the calm side, and maybe some tame rivers. But, I'd still like to spend a few hours on the water each time, have some storage space to pack a few things, and have just an overall solid boat for a beginner, but nothing super fancy. Oh, and to make it more fun, I'm 6'4" and weigh around 265.

Two of the kayaks I've found for sale used in my area are the Pungo 120 and the Dirigo 120. Any advantage of one over the other? The Dirigo is new and includes a paddle for $800 obo, and the Pungo is $650 used, and I don't think includes a paddle. Are either of these boats good for what I want to do, or should I try to find something different? The used selection is pretty scarce in my area, but I can wait if I should. How are those prices? The Pungo seemed a bit high to me, but I don't know. Oh, and I also just found a Dagger Blackwater 12 foot kayak for $650. How does that stack up?

Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for the help!

Just a few thoughts
Most reviewers are happy with their choices at the time the write them up, and there is also a human tendency to support the view that they made a good choice. I read the text and ignore the number scale, and see if there are any gems contained in the text that might apply to my current needs/skill level/etc. These reviews are a quick way to get some info on a boat you see for sale but are not familiar with.