Help with Garmin eTrex 30x

I was gifted this GPS for xmas. It came with TOPO maps but I haven’t installed it yet. I mostly want to use it to plot my put-in, take-out, and campsites in between. With analog maps I have a terrible time figuring out where I am on the river so I don’t know how far I’ve gone/have to go. I’ve never used a GPS other than my phone before and I’m pretty confused with it. I’m sure it’ll just take some getting used to, but I was wondering if someone could point me in the direction of decent instructions…the stuff that came with the unit is garbage. I did a few google searches and even what I’m coming across is a bit over my head, since it’s so different from what I’m used to. I’m going to check out the tutorials on Garmins website.

welcome
Buy a box to fit with a wee bit left over.tach with parachute cord or 1/8th shock cord. I tape seams with 3M 33 electrical after a wipe down with isopropyl.

Use lithium batteries….carry spares in the clear lid box.

https://goo.gl/oIbXJq

If Garmin is unintelligibabble try utube or download the pdf instructions.

Garmin will reply to emails.

Try to pin down what 30 storage is used for transferring maps off the PC to the 30.

The unit needs be held level for maintaining compass and position, a thwart or bilge.

Google Maps gives coordinates when the point is tapped. Pressing the map button twice or holding it down brings up that now position. If the waypoint area is entered in the now page, the GooMaps waypoint can be entered there with the keyboard.

A 76/78 works this way does that go with a 30 ?

Google Earth give coordinates. Rivers can be run onscreen with GooEarth many viewed at low water showing right left center for rapids.

Basecamp and Geocaching
I don’t have that model - I currently use an Oregon 450 - but here are some thought for getting used to the user interface.