Help with paddle selection

Hi, This is one of those subjects that seems to fall under the category “the more you learn, the less you know”. I am new to the sport and bought a camano 230 a few weeks ago. (Yesterday I tried a 215 Werner and felt much better with it.) Due to a wrist problem I thought I would buy a bent shaft. Until today, I thought an AT paddle would be my choice based on comments here on the forum. No demos in my area. I have not even found a store that stocks them.

I was shopping for it by phone and talked to a very nice guy in Maine that really seemed to know what he was talking about. He said the AT is a low angle paddle. I seem to have a high angle style. He also said the blades are quite small and the OS paddle is equal to werners regular blades. Should I lean away from the AT and look more at Werner or Lendal due to my paddling style? Any comparo’s from any of you that have paddled the Werner vs the Lendal bent shafts? Thanks.

Don’t know about AT but

– Last Updated: Jun-26-04 9:10 PM EST –

I wish people would stop selling 230s and 240s to people who really want to become sea kayakers. Most competent sea kayakers paddle 225-215 so all those 230's end up being replaced.

It is easier to help people who discuss their objectives in a profile or briefly in the post.

If you want to look at a low angle paddle look at the epic wayfarer and dompare the blade whap to the epic active tourer. Not to say you should buy an epic, I like them and onno a lot but I don't think either makes a bent shaft.

Eddyline Windswift or Ultraswift
in a 210.

Don’t give up on the AT