Help with picking a canoe

I’m sure this comes up a lot ;-).

Quick background on paddlers, I’ve got a few years experience kayaking in the pacific ocean in a touring kayak, nothing major (no surf paddling for example). My wife has a couple of years of about the same kayak experience. Due to various curcumstances we both got rid or our kayaks (way before we got married).

We’re looking for a canoe, mostly because we want to bring our dog and she’d probably not be very comfy in a kayak. We both live in Ohio now, and we’ll be paddling lakes and gentle rivers, basic recreation. We don’t fish, although we both do some photography so I guess something with decent primary stability would be good. But of course I’d like to avoid a really porky slow canoe.

I’d like something that can be stored outside without much worry, makes me lean towards a aluminum canoe, but most of those that I’ve looked for I think are a bit wide (~38"). I could build a shelter if necessary, so this isn’t a breaking point.

We’d like something that could carry an extra person, between the two of us were about 350# (most of that me :wink: and of course some extra carrying capacity would be very nice. I’m guessing 15-17’ should handle that nicely.

One thing I’d really like is the ability to adjust seating positions. As I weigh at least 100# more than the wife, it might be useful to adjust how the canoe sits.

At this point we’re open to just about anything, I would like to keep the weight around 75# or less (which doesn’t appear to be much of a problem) and if it’s gonna cost too much more than a grand, I’d probably buy a cedar strip kit and build one (I’ve built a few boats in my time).

I think the above covers the usual questions. My main concern is that there are soo many brands out there, and I have very little knowledge of the quality. I’d like to end up with a good canoe at a reasonable price without buying a pile of junk :wink:

Thanks!

I would suggest you look at Wenonah