Help With Picking A Kayak

-- Last Updated: Sep-03-06 2:14 PM EST --

I think I want a river boat or a surf boat. I am going to be playing in the surf and riding from my house 15 minutes, in the ocean, to my work. I do not want a ocean boat or a sit on top surf boat. I want something fun but for long distances as well. I am new to kayaking and am not sure what to get. Do they make a hybrid I could use for both. Thank you, ahead of time, for any help. Aloha

P.S...I am 206 pounds

Get some experience

– Last Updated: Sep-03-06 2:22 PM EST –

Have you rented a surf boat from some place like GoBannanas ?

If you want to play in the surf you might want a sit on top surf kayak especially in hawaii. You may have a bad impression from seeing high volume Ocean Kayak brand boats. Look at the Cobra Strike, Cobra Revision or Wilderness systems Kaos, or Ocean Kayak Rapido. There are also boats made by Hunt Johnson called Wave Witches that are very cool for Hawaiin type conditions. Waveskis are the ultimate for playing in the surf but you are not going to want to paddle long distances. Look at Island Waveskiand Wavemasterusa waveski webpages, also in Hawaii you may be able to buy Tsunami or Dekka skis which are really good.

Whitewater boat in hawaiian surf seems like a real bad idea to me unless you get a boat with fins. You want a boat with good down the line speed, and you want to be able to climb up and off the back of a big wave before it closes out. I have a Necky Jive that is not bad for surfing, but I would not take it to hawaii.